Catch Up

It would appear that my goal of at least one post a week has been shot right down.  No posts for March AND April!  Egad.  What was I thinking?!  I’m not sure what happened really but I know it was a rough mix of new job, family and, the doozie, dealing with numerous passages beyond the veil since last December.  The year of 2013, most certainly, got off to a rough start.

I suppose I wanted to post something to let everyone know that A.) I wasn’t going away just yet and B.) discuss what’s going to happen next.  First of all, I never intended for this blog to be focused on any one subject too long and as I posted in my first post, I have quite a bit of subjects to cover.  One of those is the outdoors.  With the turning of the sun and a return to warmer weather I’ve started being much more active in the great outdoors.  As my wonderful Canon camera is out of action I won’t have a lot of pictures to share but I’ll do what I can with my words and the occasional snap from a point-n-shoot I’ve got on loan.

In the subject of the “woods out back” I’ve been mushroom hunting with no success what. so. ever.  I think at this point I’m going to blame the cooler weather, two turkey flocks in the back valley and the small herd of deer that live with them.  It can’t be my uber-morel hunting skills, right?

The better news is that I’ve gone exploring in the back woods more than once and I’m looking forward to more adventure from that quarter.  One of the things I’ve been enjoying the most is identifying and collecting the early Spring plants coming up in the woods.  I’m hoping to get a few posts up talking about it and using the blog to stroll through the coming season in all of it’s dirt and loam filled fun. Throw in a host of permaculture projects and you’ve got a party.

I know some of you (ok, maybe only a few of you) are asking, “What about the gaming?”  Welllll, that’s coming along too.  I fully intend to get going with my solo sandbox game very shortly.  Why has it taken so long?  I’m going to let you in on a big secret about all of that and why there’s not been a whole lot posted.  I’ve been stuck.  Yes, stuck.  One, I’m just now getting used to Crazy Rewarding Job which has taken much if not all of my remaining energy.  Two,  I’ve got this horrible problem/habit with creative projects called thinktoomuchitis.  This is a condition where, instead of just doing the damn thing, I tend to daydream and mentally dawdle (typically back and forth to work) about why one subject or idea would not work or I have an idea that I’m concerned needs to be saved for a writing project that I will probably never get done, let alone published.

I think about these things (typically coming home from work) and then, once home, they crash into the realities awaiting me there.  Sometime after dinner I realize I had thought something important and that I must have left it in the car because it’s CERTAINLY not around here and right about the time I decide to go back out to check the car, I fall asleep or fall prey to an online game and THEN fall asleep.  (Go LOTRO!)   The next morning, I wake up, roust the children if they need rousting, prepare for my day, and then it’s off to work where the whole cycle tends to repeat itself.  You turn around, it’s almost May and you think, “Oh!  I had a blog around here somewhere didn’t I!?!”

To sum up those two overly long paragraphs, I’m coming back to the gaming and am trying, REALLY trying, to find an idea that I can just relax and have fun with.  The good news?  I think I may have come across something that might just work.  I think the test here is to not think about it too much and just do it.

When I look back over my New Years Resolutions, I had promised to post at least once a week.  My last post was March 1.  Today is May 1st.  Looking back at my calendar that makes roughly 7 weeks or 7 posts that I owe myself.  I’d like to get caught up by May which means 4 posts for each of the remaining weeks.  This means 11 to 12 posts before the end of the month.  Thankfully, I’m not too worried.  Those posts may not be huge but I think I’ve got enough material between Mother Nature, Gaming and “The Big Surprise” in the next two weeks that I can do it no problem.  Anyone out there care to cheer lead for me?

What’s that?  What?  Did I say something about a Big Surprise?  Oh, no, I don’t think I did.

You must have been hearing things…

Posted on May 1, 2013, in Family, General, Nature, Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

