Catching Up and Commitment

I realize I’ve not been posting here because I’ve been tricking myself to think every post needs to be huge or entertaining or deeply meaningful.

There’s quite a bit going on these days. Some of it good, some of it bad.  The bad?  Well, we’re still struggling financially.  Lack of a solid paying job will do that.  Not complaining, just fact.  My camera battery in my Canon has decided to go belly-up. Unfortunately, said battery is around $75 which I just don’t have lying around.   For that kind of money I could go buy a decent point-n-shoot!   Regardless, I’m hanging onto what money I do have due to the good news below.  New pics of the adventures will just have to wait.  In other news I’m still kicking through the job applications.  An interview process that went into the second round had looked very hopeful but another applicant was chosen.  I did get a very nice and heartfelt email from the interviewer which I felt was very kind.

The good?  First of all, I’m going to have to adjust the initial list of topics discussed on this blog to include, “Audio Theatre.”  This is because in a little more than a week I’m going to get a shot at doing something I’ve wanted to do for a very long time.  What is that, you ask?  It looks like I’m going to the National Audio Theatre Festival Workshop in a little over a week from now.  I very wonderful set of circumstances has rolled together and, from where I’m looking right now, it looks like I’m attending.  More on that in a separate post since it is a bit of a story.

Other good news?  My amazing wife is one full week away from completing her college degree!  She’s finishing up her final class, a higher tier French class, while working a full time job and dealing with a bulged disc in her back.  (Don’t tell her but I think she MIGHT be superhuman.)  I’m very excited for her and have been cheering her on at every opportunity.  The good news is that she will be done in a week.  The bad is that I won’t be able to celebrate because I’ll be at the workshop!  As they say, timing is everything.

Other news – the kids are home from school.   This provides more opportunity for gaming and, of course, distraction.  This will be my second summer home with them and I’m very thankful for it.  They’ve been pretty great so far so I have no complaints.   Time will tell on that, I’m sure.

My writing has taken a bit of a hit since I’m scrambling like mad to get all the ducks in a row for this audio festival.  From what I understand I’ll be doing a good bit of writing there on audio scripts so I’m thinking I will have time for catching up on word count.

And that’s the update.  Life just keeps on happening and I need to figure out a way to get posts up here more regularly.

 

 

Posted on June 8, 2012, in Family, Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am with you on the daily commitment. It’s too easy for the blog (or other writing) to fall off the end of my mental stack if I’m not trying to write every day. Here’s to new beginnings, and the new beginnings after that too. Hope the audio theatre is going well!

Leave a Reply

